Monkey Business

Sorry for the radio silence. It’s been a mixture of enjoying time off, being unmotivated to write anything, not having much to write about, and now getting a bunch of orders which are keeping me busy.   It felt really good to take most of January off.  But it also feels good to start sewing again.  It’s funny, last year I had big plans for the blog for January in the way of making some sewing tutorials since I knew I wouldn’t be making a lot for the shop, but once the time came I just couldn’t get up the energy to make or take pictures of anything.

On one of my recent projects, I was asked to make a train conductor sock monkey.  I had never done one before and was actually surprised to see how almost non-existent they are online. Thankfully, the customer wanted just a hat and scarf (instead of overalls too) which helped to keep the cost down. I hadn’t made a monkey in a long time.  It was a fun challenge to make his little hat too. I found this tutorial online to help me picture how to sew it and then I adapted it to fit a monkey.

5 thoughts on “Monkey Business

    • That is so cool you guys still have them. What a special keepsake. This monkey is for a baby boy that will be born any day now and it is from his aunt. Hopefully he’ll love it like you and your brother. And I just realized that the link the the hat tutorial wasn’t on there…so it is now.

  1. What a precious monkey! I have had my hands full with a certain little monkey on this side and have neglected my sewing as well… I miss it, and hope to begin again soon. I can’t wait for some tutorials from you! How fun!

  2. Love! A couple of Christmases ago, my mom and I cut out four sets of socks (brown ones, with the red heels and toes) so that all four of my kids (even a 4-yr-old) could stuff and hand-sew together their own sock monkeys. Your post just sparked that memory…so precious your little monkey is!

    I have GOT to get my sewing machine and serger out of the boxes in my closet where they’re not doing a single darn thing. OK…I’ll put it on my list after “build keyhole garden.”

    LOL My list just keeps getting longer…

    • What a great gift idea. I’m sure they loved getting to make them. What great memories. Sorry to be adding to your list of things to do! I wish I sewed more for my own family. I am usually too busy making stuff for my shop for everyone else’s kids.

Please share your thoughts!